Skip to content

Where have I been?

June 10, 2009

Not updating this blog is where. Another bit of dead air on the internet, for which I apologise. Since I’m still currently trying to get my work-life together, figure out what I want to be if I grow up, repatriate myself back to my home country (if it will have me) and/or orchestrate a career plan that will allow me to spend part of my life in Ireland but keep my home base in Boston, where I was born and where, after two decades of wanting to blow that town, I want to go back — wait, where did that sentence just go? Anyway, my thirteen-year old self sure has egg on her face now! But at least that’s something to hide the zits, the shame, the braces, the glasses and the fat that was neither glandular nor puberty-related. Anyway, the only thing more boring than a blog that’s never updated is a blog post that attempts to make excuses for never updating the blog.

What I’m trying to say is that I’ve got these audio files from a radio series I did last year for Phantom 105.2, funded by the BCI’s Sound and Vision grant, and I figure that of the 12 I made, a few of them might actually be worth listening to. So over the next few days, I’m going to get out of actually composing proper blog posts and placate my, I dunno, three readers by drip-feeding you the few segments I made that are the least cringeworthy.

The series was called Skint City, and had two purposes (mistake number one), one of which was to give people some ideas about things that can be done in Dublin for five euros or less. I tried to stay away from the obvious things: the National Museum, the National Gallery, etc. The premise was really about how if you put your wallet away and start paying attention, stop using money as a substitute for imagination, you’ll find that there’s quite a lot of cheap and free stuff to do in this city. I wanted to focus on labours of love, good stories, and experiences.

It’s fair to say that some of the segments just plain didn’t work. I was trying to do too many things at once, but I like to think that I learned a lesson that I’ll never have to learn again.

Anyway, this first piece is about The Cle Club, a song club held every Wednesday night in Liberty Hall, which I cannot recommend more highly, and which I would attend more frequently only it doesn’t get started until about 9:30 at night, and I always have to plan ahead if I’m going to stay out past my bedtime.

My friend Neil pointed me to these nice people at Soundcloud. Thanks, Neil!

If you click on the link below here, it should play. Or maybe you need to download it. I will probably end up editing this post a thousand times before I figure out how you can stream it if you want, if you’re like me and hate waiting for downloads.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 11:22 am

    > Anyway, the only thing more boring than a blog that’s never updated is a blog
    > post that attempts to make excuses for never updating the blog.

    Too late! You’ve bored me!

    Only messing. Don’t do it again though. So where are the audio files?

  2. June 18, 2009 11:23 am

    Crap, I see the link now, sorry for bothering you …

    • Jane permalink*
      June 18, 2009 7:05 pm

      Not a bother at all at all! Thanks for looking and maybe listening! I do need to figure out how to do a widget or make the link somehow more prominent. It’s very hard to see.

Leave a Reply

