Skip to content

Can’t Touch This. Well, You Can, But You Won’t Be Glad You Did

April 10, 2009

I saw this on Fade Street the other day.

Free Inside! Your Mortality!

Free Inside! Your Mortality!

There are a few of these great ESB box stickers around town, my favourite being this one (which no, I did not take, and am dying to know where it is). I know that Conorh has a photo of one of these in a different location, but Conor, can you post a link? More of this sort of thing that also gives me the opportunity to post a link to my favourite thing on the whole internet that is not a baby animal.

In the meantime, I am still trying to decide whether I should post the pictures of ‘fan mail’ that I got from someone who has offered to come and clean my house dressed as a maid. I guess with my earnest empathy for eccentrics, I’m okay with laughing at people’s weirdness as long as no one is mean. I’ve found myself defending this person more than I have laughing at them, not because I don’t think it’s funny, but because it’s not the fetish that makes me feel a little weird, it’s that this person looked up my address in the phone book and thought it was appropriate to send me a letter to my house.

Because really, I’d much rather live in a world full of oddballs with fetishes than a world full of assholes of any kind. It’s the lack of boundary is all. I just can’t figure out why my inner ethicist is telling me that to describe the fan mail is okay, but to post it is just kinda mean. Anyone know why this is?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2009 12:43 pm

    Two important notices

    and another kind of kitten

    Celtic Tiger

  2. Jane permalink*
    April 10, 2009 12:47 pm

    Yay! Thanks, Conor!

    Those kitten stickers make me very happy. Probably happier than All Day Breakfast, which is pretty damn good.

  3. Kim permalink
    April 10, 2009 1:20 pm

    ‘Death rests within’?! Bloody hell already. Who’s their copywriter, Marcus Aurelius?

    • Jane permalink*
      April 10, 2009 1:23 pm

      Obviously some well-read kittens experiencing a period of confinement.

  4. Kim permalink
    April 10, 2009 1:35 pm

    I don’t know if it’s bad blog etiquette to link to another blog on a blog, so please feel free to remove this if you want, but on the subject of kittens on the internet, this is my most beloved favourite thing
    http://fuckyoupenguin.blogspot.com/

    • Jane permalink*
      April 10, 2009 1:41 pm

      It is certainly not bad blog etiquette. And even if it were, I’d be a fool not to make an exception for Fuck You, Penguin.

  5. April 10, 2009 11:27 pm

    My 2 cents: Don’t post those images.

    • Jane permalink*
      April 11, 2009 12:02 am

      Yah, I didn’t think so. Somehow blogging them here just seems like a violation of someone’s privacy, even if, uh, sending them to my house was a bit of a violation of mine. I still feel like that’s no excuse.: oversharing does not have to become meta-oversharing.

      Funny to share with mates on a site where stuff is quickly forgotten as it drops down a feed. A blog is archived differently, and I think I’d regret it, especially if it embarrassed the dude.

      It was the sending it to me at home which was creepy. The actual fetish thing — there are way worse things in the world, and it was done in total self-effacing sincerity that it was clearly harmless.

Leave a Reply

